jump to navigation

retread| Tonight 14 April 2007

Posted by VARANGALI in Poetry, Spirituality, VARANGALI.
trackback

Retreads are quality posts from yesterweeks that are given a second run on Saturdays. This piece was originally posted by VARANGALI on 27 Oct 2006.

I do not feel how to pray.
Fear I never did.
Prostate and bent, haggard and wincing,
wrinkled and furrowed, sweated and sweating –
knew the pain and knew the vigor,
knew the concentration and knew the sinner
inside.

To comprehend the sin is to re-win the vigor,
I’ve been told. The connect – that connect –
from sin to vigor to understanding to knowledge
which will (of course) set me free (but when can I feel?)

Life is a frothy can of coke and I’m sipping slow,
The sugar to my liver and caffeine to my brain:
I can knock out this ennui tonight, I swear.

And I shall pray tonight, and I shall pray slow.
I’ll stand as a reed, waiting to be knocked low.
I will not quiver, like a shadow in the sun,
but be the shadow in the shade of a soul.

October 27, 2006

Comments»

1. Darwina Bolkim - 14 April 2007

Fall in love and you shall WORSHIP and prayer is becomes a vessel of union


Leave a Reply

