jump to navigation

Profiles 20 November 2005

Posted by EDITOR in Misc.
trackback

The following characters inhabit othermatters.org on a regular basis. Guest contributors may also join us from time to time.

ABD

I have returned to the academy to pursue a PhD in political philosophy after a short hiatus in the real world. My influences are diverse and I seek to learn as much as possible from whomever I can. Fortunately, I have found a precious minority of critical and spiritual people wherever I have lived (Karachi, Boston, Chicago and Dubai).

ALBUS

I am described thusly in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: “He was tall, thin, and very old, judging by the silver of his hair and beard, which were both long enough to tuck into his belt. He was wearing long robes, a purple cloak that swept the ground, and high-heeled, buckled boots. His blue eyes were light, bright, and sparkling behind half-moon spectacles and his nose was very long and crooked, as though it had been broken at least twice.”

IL LOGICO

As your Latin friends will know (or “Il Postino” fans will guess), Il Logico means “The Logical”. I pride myself on the elegance of my proofs and my familiarity with dead languages. I am here to elevate the discourse at othermatters.org.

MOZAFFAR

I have little to offer the world, save for a few bits of wisdom I’ve probably stolen from jum’a khutbas. In the meantime, I’m trying to purge myself of the assorted variety of Nifaq-nuggets I keep finding in my system. Otherwise, I’m getting my doctorate in Islamic Intellectual History, and am a dedicated member of IONA. I also run a personal blog called Mozaffar’s Moments.

VARANGALI

As someone who identifies with both Pinky and The Brain, I try to keep my interests broad and my skepticism narrow. My academic training is in political science, economics and now business. Among the issues I am currently trying to understand are how history is reflected in the present, and how the character of the political regime affect individual decision-making.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

